Skip to content
June 19, 2008 / compassioninpolitics

Of Pomegranates, Artists, and Christianity

Re-thinking the Biblican Narrative in I Kings:

Flowerdust has a great interview today:

The story of the pomegranates in I Kings was a story that I heard a pastor speak on in the early 1990’s. For some reason it just stuck with me that this guy, Hurum, spent a ton of time carving pomegranates and lily work into the top of the columns of Solomon’s temple.

I actually processed this book in my head for 15 years as I thought about what our lives could look like if we were to live as artist who were carrying out the details of our lives towards an audience of One. So the pomegranates that Hurum carved can be a symbol of our children who we are instructing, spreadsheets at work we are entering data into, a friend who we are helping come to grips with life’s tragedy or even something as huge as starting a church. The point is that each of us are artists and have an opportunity to create a life of influence. In fact Here is a snippet from the Intro that I think sums it up in part:

As I watched every deliberate, yet seemingly effortless movement I was amazed. Each and every action led to yet another beautiful layer of the canvas that was taking shape. Color and imagination, heart and soul were being poured into each and every detail of this work before her and it was at this very moment that I knew I was watching an artist at her work. Her canvas seemed at times to war against her, but with determination she was creating something very special. The artist was my wife and the canvas my nearly 2-year old daughter.

Mommies are artists. The opportunity for a hostile situation stood before him like a huge rock of granite. It seemed almost impossible to move and determined to stay hard and unshaped. But using the power of words my friend Josh has the ability to craft and sculpt beautiful art out of the most callous of situations. With the use of just the right words he creates an art show on display for the world to see.

Co-workers are artists.

Check out the rest of the Pomegranates interview at Flowedust.

Cool metaphor. Thoughts?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shawn Wood / Jun 20 2008 2:04 pm

    Nathan,

    Thanks for the kind words and the link. I hope that everyone will check out the sample chapter and then the book in September!

    thanks

    Shawn Wood
    http://www.200pomegranates.com

  2. compassioninpolitics / Jun 22 2008 7:05 pm

    Shawn,

    Thanks for stopping by. Can’t wait for your book to come out.

    God bless,
    Nathan

Leave a comment