Skip to content
May 30, 2013 / compassioninpolitics

Christian International Adoption Stories from Friends

A friend’s wife writes:

My children amaze me. I’ve always thought it was my job to teach them about the Kingdom of God, but they’re constantly teaching me with their enormous child’s faith.

When we first started seriously considering adopting, I took each child aside separately. I explained as simply as I could that we were thinking about having a new brother or sister, but that he or she would probably not come as a baby, but as a little kid. I asked Elliot, our rocket scientist 5-year-old, “How would you feel about a new brother or sister? Do you think you’d like that?”

He responded, “Oh, well. We should get a brother for me and a sister for Audrey.”

I smiled politely and said that was an interesting idea. Later I took Audrey, our dramatic diva 3-year-old, aside and asked her the same question.

And she responded without hesitation, “We should have a brother and a sister.“

“Why?”

“Because I love brothers and sisters.“

Melt.

Read the rest at Be Strong and Courageous

Leave a Reply

