Skip to content
December 2, 2014 / compassioninpolitics

The Faith vs. Reason

Who are church fathers? What are their names? (I’m sure thats coming next)

Whats next? Are you going to unpack the epistemology of the scientific method, reason/skepticism, and empiricism?

At some point you probably need to address the Kierkeggard question. (ie he being one of the primary people who advocates leap of faith). We’re Christians, not Kierkeggard followers–obviously. (I’m curious if there are inside critiques of Kierkeggard–ie Chrisitans who critique him–I’m sure there are).

Obviously parallels to other kinds of faith in life might be helpful. And I assume you are going to equate it with trust…and walk through that and unpack that a bit (ie trust in other contexts).

Oh…also, I’m sure you were going to include this, but that Lennox quote I have is on-fire in my opinion. I think the ways in which the worldviews of atheism = blind faith is kind of an interesting tactic. (I assume the Hebrews quote will inevitably arise as well)

Shifts in philosophy might be interesting (aka against their worldview). When I looked up “reductivism in logic” and “reductivism in argument” on Google I had some interesting hits.

Either/or fallacy and/or bad definition (rigged definition). I don’t remember the exact names of the definitional fallacies. This literally says “do not cite,” but its from Princeton so I thought I would send you the link at least: Fallacies of definition

Assumptions and logic leaps = conversation stoppers.

Worldviews and ideologies as challenging to bridge, but not impossible. Harris would have us pretty much moot talk of belief entirely. Thats a huge net disadvantage & the implications are huge.

BTW, if you want me to chase down that Lennox, I would be glad to do so. I seem to remember that you grabbed it already.

I think dealing with the nature of definitional disputes (particularly with ones the other side defined might be smart). I wonder how one could secure 3rd party definitions of faith. I know studies in sociology have definitions of “religiosity”–which should should implicate faith.

I think you may also want to define belief…..at some point. Because a very parallel and similar issue arises from belief.

Leave a Reply

