Skip to content
September 5, 2016 / compassioninpolitics

Best Steven Covey Quotes on Life, Leadership, and Habits

“Every human being has four endowments – self-awareness, conscience, independent will, and creative imagination. These give us the ultimate human freedom: The power to choose, to respond, to change.”

Steven Covey

“Deep within each of us is an inner longing to live a life of greatness and contribution – to really matter, to really make a difference. We can consciously decide to leave behind a life of mediocrity and to life a life of greatness – at home, at work, and in the community.”

Steven Covey

“I have made it a regular practice to interview my children. The basic ground rule in this “interview” is that I only listen and try to understand. It is not a time for moralizing, preaching, teaching, or disciplining – there are other times for that – this is a time to merely listen and understand and empathize. Sometimes I want terribly to move in and advise, teach, judge, or sympathize, but I have inwardly determined that during these special visits I will only attempt to understand.”

Steven Covey

“If I were to summarize in one sentence the single most important principle I have learned in the field of interpersonal relations, it would be this: Seek First to Understand, Then to Be Understood.”

Steven Covey

“Leadership is the highest of the arts, simply because it enables all the other arts and professions to work.”

Steven Covey

“Leadership is a choice that lies in the space between stimulus and response.”

Steven Covey

“Education the heart is the critical complement to educating the mind.”

Steven Covey

“We are self-aware. This awareness means that we can stand mentally outside of ourselves and evaluate our beliefs and our actions. We can think about what we think.”

Steven Covey

“Everyone chooses one or two roads in life – the old and the young, the rich and the poor, men and women alike. One is the broad, well-traveled road to mediocrity, the other the road to greatness and meaning.”

Steven Covey

If I make deposits into an Emotional Bank Account with you through courtesy, kindness, honesty, and keeping my commitments to you, I build up a reserve. Your trust in me becomes higher, and I can call upon that trust many times if I need to. I can even make mistakes and that trust level, that emotional reserve will compensate for it. My communication may not be clear, but you’ll get my meaning anyway. You won’t make me “an offender for a word.” When the trust account is high, communication is easy, instant and effective.

Steven Covey

List of Steven Covey Quotes

Leave a Reply

